Main Content


SWAYAM – NPTEL Local Chapter

DY Patil Deemed to be University, Navi Mumbai becomes SWYAM-NPTEL Local Chapter

National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning (NPTEL) is an initiative by seven Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT Bombay, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, and Roorkee) and the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) for creating course contents in engineering and science. It is funded by MHRD, Government of India.

It is a curriculum building exercise and is directed towards providing learning materials in Science and Engineering by adhering to the syllabi of the All India Council for Technical Education and the slightly modified curricula of major affiliating Universities. The courses are well structured and are elaborate with details wherever the faculty members have felt the need. Institutions are encouraged to build their own versions of NPTEL courses based on their curriculum design using the NPTEL materials and collective experience of all IITs and IISc in TEL.

The fundamental goal of the project to bring in all the best teachers in the country under the umbrella of NPTEL and record their lectures/seek their collaboration with IITs/IISc and make their courses available for the community under free and open sources agreement.

Faculty and students can enroll for various online courses for the span of 4 weeks, 8 weeks & 12 weeks and enhance their knowledge on the respective domain and can get themselves certified by the competing authority.

Advanced NPTEL online certification courses are approved for the Faculty Development Programme (FDP) by AICTE. Faculty members of institutions can benefit from these FDPs.

DY Patil Deemed to be University, Navi Mumbai (ID 1427) has become SWAYAM-NPTEL local chapter for online courses under IIT BOMBAY. The SPOC (single point of contact) for the local chapter is Dr. Shine Devarajan, Assistant Professor, School of Biotechnology and Bioinformatics, Navi Mumbai