Open Essay Competition 2016


In keeping with the tradition of unique and novel approaches to achieve the ultimate goal of educational growth and scientific development, the Department of Conservative Dentistry and Endodontics at D Y Patil University School of Dentistry instituted the first of its kind Open Essay Competition on a national level in August 2014. The purpose of this venture was to provide a platform for scientific minds from around the whole country to hone their penmanship and compete on a national level.

Instituting a new idea is no doubt a Herculean task, but sustaining it is perhaps just as challenging. The e-competition was launched this year nationwide on 3rd August, the birth anniversary of Dr. G. V. Black, the Father of Conservative Dentistry. Invites towards participation went far and wide across the length and breadth of the nation, covering each of the 301 dental colleges registered with the Dental Council of India. Entries were invited in 3 categories with separate topics for each category.

Category I: Undergraduate Dental Students (including Interns)

Topic: My choice for further studies after BDS.

Category II: Dental Surgeons (including postgraduates and students of specialities other than Conservative Dentistry)

Topic: Current challenges in private practice.

Category III: Postgraduates of Conservative Dentistry & Endodontics (including postgraduate students)

Topic: Why root canals fail?

First prize in each category: Cash prize of Rs. 5000/-

Second prize in each category: Cash prize of Rs. 3000/-

The winners would receive the prizes along with a citation.

And the response from the student and dental professional communities was nothing short of stupendous. A total of 145 entries were received; 45 in Category I, 41 in Category II and 59 in Category III; from 43 colleges from around the country.

After blinding of the entries, the essays were evaluated and scored for statement of purpose, presentation, vocabulary, grammar and scientific content. Head of department Dr. Leena Padhye and Dr. Lalitagauri Mandke were a part of the evaluation team along with self. The best two entries in each category were selected for the first and second places respectively. The prize winners were:

Category 1.

1st place – ReetKapur (Intern)

BharatiVidyapeeth Dental College and Hospital,

Khargar, Navi Mumbai.

2nd place – AneeshShabu (4rth BDS)

Srinivas Institute of Dental Sciences,

Surathkal, Mangalore.

Category 2.

1st place – Dr. Vishal Karkamkar (BDS-in private practice, Aluminus of DYP School of Dentistry)

Dombivli, Maharashtra.

2nd place – Dr. ParidhiRawat (BDS)


Dist. PauriGarhwal, Uttarakhand

Category 3.

1st place – Dr. Vivek Sharma (2nd MDS)

Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences,


2nd place- Dr. MohitGautam (3rd MDS)

Sri Guru Ram Das Institute of Dental Sciences,

Amritsar, Punjab.

I must take this opportunity to mention that with the passing years, the writing maturity and skills that we saw in the entries is just getting better and better. This year’s essays were very well thought out and the prize winning entries were quite stunning in their presentation and intellectual content.

We extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to participants from all colleges who showed the interest and inclination to participate in a hitherto unexplored format of scientific competition. Your interest and participation proves that even with the copy paste era of today, the art of writing is alive and well and in your safe hands !

The peaks of excellence that an educational institute can conquer are surely defined by the support towards novel and innovative methods of teaching-learning employed by the faculty. In this aspect, our dynamic president Dr. Vijay D. Patil has been a rock of Gibraltar, whole-heartedly supporting us in every venture that we make towards the goal of making learning interesting and even mesmerising for students everywhere. Our Dean Dr. Omkar Shetty and Director Mr. UdayShende have been instrumental in encouraging us at every step towards the conduction and completion of this novel academic project.

With the dawn of the new year, we look forward to conducting the CDE-OEC 2017 in the month of August once again. To all students in pursuit of academic excellence, keep your feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars!

Dr. Sumita Bhagwat

Convener- CDE-OEC